Saturday, March 24, 2018


The Falkland Islands (Malvinas) archipelago, in the southwest of the South Atlantic Ocean, is situated some 530 kilometres east of Bahía Grande, Province of Santa Cruz (Argentina). The area's productivity is evidenced by the great variety of fish, invertebrates and algae. On its shores breed 22 species of seabirds (three of them globaly threatened) and three species of pinnipeds. 74% (approximately 380.000 pairs) of the world population of Black-browed Albatross breeds on the islands. Surrounding waters are frequently visited by more than 20 species of cetaceans (of which 11 are globally threatened).

Conservation Status


Biogeographical Region

Temperate seas of South America. Magellanic Province. Ecoregion: Malvinas / Falklands.


466.000 km2

Types of Habitats

Coastal environments with tussock grass (Poa flabellata). Intertidal habitats include marshes, rocky shores and sand as well as pebble beaches. 18 marine habitats have been desribed based on predominant substrata and the assemblage of organisms living therein.

Species Richness

22 seabird species breed in the area; 3 pinniped species and more than 20 cetaceans frequently visit the surrounding waters. More than 550 marine species have been reported counting fish, invertebrates and algae.

Main Use

Commercial fishing. Hydrocarbon exploration and drilling. Agriculture. Tourism.


Hydrocarbon contamination events. Lack of regional cooperation in fisheries management.

Management- Main Government Bodies

A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

Level of Protection

Various reserves on land protect the main seabird breeding sites.  Various management/conservation areas have been established protecting specific marine areas.


Breeding colony of Black-browed albatros in Beauchene Island © S. Crofts

Breeding colony of Gentoo Penguins © Valeria Falabella

Scroll To Top